Close

Spotlight

October 2021 Spotlight Book – Not A Box

Don’t miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson.  A box is just a box…unless it’s not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit […]

Read More

Footsteps2Brilliance

Footsteps2Brilliance is offering its program to you for free! Footsteps2Brilliance is providing the children and families in our district with an award-winning pre-K through 3rd grade early literacy program during this time of national emergency. Please click on the link below to begin your free access now. https://www.footsteps2brilliance.com/schoolclosures/

Read More

August 24, 2019 Soar In 4 Saturday The Cat In The Hat

The Cat in the Hat visited our Soar in 4 Saturday at The Bishop Museum to encourage a love of learning and interest in science and engineering. Families were provided with on line resources to cultivate positive views about science and scientists among the next generation. With the help of interactive activities the children were […]

Read More

August 21, 2019 The Power Of Words

Vocabulary has a fundamental role in the reading process and contributes greatly to a reader’s comprehension. A reader cannot understand a text without knowing what words mean. Children learn meanings of most words indirectly through everyday experiences with oral and written language. Other words are learned through carefully designed instruction. Beginning readers must use the […]

Read More

Manatee County’s Advocates For Children’s Literacy

Congratulation to Steve and Carolyn Roskamp of Freedom Senior Management the recipients of the 2019 Commissioner’s Business Recognition Award! Steve and Carolyn Roskamp became advocates for children’s literacy 3 years ago when they joined the Campaign for Grade Level Reading. Their desire that all children are reading proficiently by the end of third grade has […]

Read More

Soar in 4 Active Reading

Making the most of your reading experiences, active reading, is the culmination of several different strategies that a student activates when reading an unfamiliar passage. Last night author Laurel MacQuarrie and the main character from her children’s books Seefus a young slug, demonstrated how to be active readers. To be an active reader you must […]

Read More

Becoming a Super Reader with Super Why!

The goal at Soar in 4 is to ensure that every student becomes a super reader by the time they reach third grade. Reading is a complex activity that is best taught both at home and in school. Tonight we presented a few key elements to get families started. Our goal is that families will […]

Read More